Nano News

San Diego, Calif., March 28, 2012 – The American Chemical Society has awarded Liangfang Zhang, professor in the Department of NanoEngineering, the ACS Colloid and Surface Division Unilever Award for 2012.  read more

Joseph Wang receives two Honorary Professor Awards from Beijing Science Technology University (BSTU), Beijing and Nanjing University of Science and Technology, Nanjing (China), August 2011.  Se

Distinguished Professor Marc Meyers has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society,

Researchers at UC San Diego have developed a novel method of disguising nanoparticles as red blood cells, which will enable them to evade the body’s immune system and deliver cancer-fighting drugs straight to a tumor.

Dept News

Wei Gao, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute 2012 International Student Research Fellow for research in Advanced Nanomachines and Their Biomedical Applications under the guidance and leadership of Professor Joseph Wang.

If you graduated in 2007, 2008 or 2009 from UCSD Jacobs School of Engineering, you should have received an email to fill out an alumni survey.  Please fill out the survey.  If you did not receive the email, please contact Renee Gramlich (

NanoEngineering is moving the month of July to the new SME Building.  Our labs will start moving Monday July 16th with the majority of NE labs moving the week of 7/16 - 7/20/12 and all labs moved by 9/15/12.

The winner of the Huppert Memorial Outstanding Chemical Engineering Senior for 2012 is Nathan Konopliv.  Nathan had the highest GPA for the graduating seniors.  He is going to graduate school at UC Santa Barbara.  Congratulations Nathan!

Congratulations to Raj Khatri for being selected to receive the 2012 NanoEngineering Department's Outstanding Student Leader Award!  He will be honored at the Jacobs School Ring Ceremony on Saturday, June 16 at 8pm. Best wishes on your future endeavors!

A LinkedIn group has been created to connect our Chemical Engineering Alumni with each other and the faculty at UCSD. Let us know how you are doing professionally by joining our group! Log on to LinkedIn to join today.

The Department is  proud to announce that our AIChE project team has won the "Most Creative Drive System" award and also placed 6th in overall performance at the AIChE Western Regional Conference in their first time appearance.

Congratulations to Peter Chung from Professor Chen's lab for being one of the latest NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program award winners for 2012-2013. The fellowship is a three-year award, offering $30,000 in stipend and a proposed $12,000 in cost of education toward fees.  Job well done!

The winner of the Huppert Memorial Outstanding Chemical Engineering Senior for 2011 is Ramzi Said.

Two Warren College awards were given to Chemical Engineering senior Colin Scholtz.


Applied research at the US DOE supporting the development of next-generation batteries for plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs)

Peter Faguy, Ph.D.

NANO meets BIO:  Understanding the Mechanisms of Immune Recognition of Engineered Nanomedicines

Dmitri Simberg, Ph.D.

UC San Diego, Moores Cancer Center

An Interdisciplinary Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment of Common Blinding Eye Diseases

Kang Zhang, Ph.D.

UC San Diego

Precipitation Effects in Ion Implanted Aluminum Nitride
Fatima Alleyne, Doctoral Candidate
University of California, Berkeley

Atmospheric Nanoparticles: Measurements and Observations

Jim Smith, Ph.D.

National Center for Atmospheric Research


High-throughput First-principles Computational Materials Design


Kesong Yang, Ph.D.

Duke University

Data-Driven Materials Design: Combining Science and Informatics to Accelerate Materials Innovation
Shyue Ping Ong, Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)



Revisiting Asphaltene Precipitation from Crude Oils: A Case of Neglected Kinetic Effects
H. Scott Folger, Ph.D.
University of Michigan

Nanostructured Materials for Advanced Energy Storage

Cengiz Ozkan, Ph.D.

Engineered Nanostructures for Investigation and Regulation of Cellular Signaling Processes
Gang-yu Liu, Ph.D.
UC Davis